Emptying your recycle bin is not always safe
A short week coming ahead 🙂 One more day to go, a public holiday and then 2 more days before the weekend. hehe. Anyway, thanks for tuning to the blog. I hope that you will find this post interesting and informative.
Coming to today’s topic, for those who already know what I am talking about, you can stop reading as from here and click on a link in the right sidebar ->
If you continue reading this, then most probably, you always believed that when you empty your recycle bin , the content is definitely deleted and lost. False. What you delete through your recycle bin actually remains on your disk drive, physically. To simplify things, I would say that the operating system(Windows for example) only removes links to your data.
For example : consider your kitchen trash can. When the scavenger guys collect your trash, they normally dump them into some remote area, for example Mare Chicose. This means that people can still recover your rubbish (for whatever reason).
Well, it applies exactly the same way for computers. Sensible data, even when deleted, can land into wrong hands.
Some computer software enable people to recover and gain access to those files again. Yeah, you probably saw that in films! They really do exist and are accessible to everyone. While this is sometimes useful, for example if you deleted a file by mistake, the same technique can be dangerous. People can recover the deleted data and get back your personal files and secrets.
To end this post :
If you wish to prevent people from accessing your ‘deleted’ data, you can either sanitize your disk or burn it, just like your garbage.
Note : Geeks, I just wanted to share this with my readers. Perhaps it might be useful. And yes, yashvinblogs recommends the use of original software and does not encourage burning of your dirty stuff. Do what you want at your own risk!